IIM AWARDS

16 Name of the Medal: IIM- Dr. A K BOSE GOLD MEDAL

16.1 **Year Established:**

The Dr A K Bose Gold Medal was established in 1972 to perpetuate the memory of Dr A K Bose.

16.1.1 **Periodicity:**

Only one award will be given every year.

16.1.2 In the absence of a suitable candidate in the year under consideration, the Council may not give the award that year.

16.1.3 **Posthumous Selection:**

Awards shall not include posthumous selection.

16.1.4 **Description of the Award**:

Gold plated medal accompanied with a scroll of Honor. On one side of the medal will be inscribed the Institute's crest with the words "Dr. A K Bose Gold Medal" on the periphery of the circular medal, whereas the other side will contain the name of the recipient, field of contribution and the year of award.

16.2 **Purpose of the Award:**

16.2.1 To Honor best student whose **M E / M.Tech. / M.S**. Thesis is adjudged as the best, presented during the year.

16.3 **Eligibility:**

16.3.1 Contributions & Achievements:

- 16.3.2 The Medal is presented to a Student of Metallurgy whose M E / M.Tech. / M.S. Thesis is adjudged as the best.
- 16.3.3 IIM Membership: Not mandatory.
- 16.3.4 Singular / Joint Award: Singular.
- 16.3.5 **Age:** Open.
- 16.3.6 Qualifications: Minimum: Bachelor's degree in Metallurgy.

16.4 **Nominations:**

16.4.1 ME Thesis are invited from Engineering Institutions imparting metallurgy & materials science education.

16.5 **Presentation:**

16.5.1 The Dr A K Bose Gold Medal accompanied with a scroll of Honor will be formally presented to the recipient during the IIM Awards Ceremony of The Indian Institute of Metals.

16.6 **Selection Committee Guidelines:**

- 16.6.1 The IIM Awards Committee as approved by the Council shall meet to consider the proposal of the nominated Panel constituted to evaluate the Thesis and make its recommendations to the National Council.
- 16.6.2 The Council of The Indian Institute of Metals will be the sole authority to decide the recipient from the recommendations submitted by the Awards Committee.